WILD HORSE HUB CENTRAL

RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS ALWAYS…Image

Isn’t that just perfect artwork? A young lady by the name of Robin Warren, (you may know her as Wild Mustang Robin) did that for WILD HORSE HUB CENTRAL. Check out the copyright signature, and that is what just blew me away! She took the time not only to do the artwork, but she also asked questions of the professional journalists who knew about copyrights to make sure her work is under copyright! What a professional and talented young lady, and a wonderful friend. She has a mustang now, and if you are nice, she might even let you see her pictures! It’s a wonderful thing that so many have done for Robin, but she worked very hard and she deserved even more. I love her dearly, and everyone who has ever been affiliated with WHHC loves her just as much as I do, or more! 

I started a little web site for this blog and the WILD HORSE HUB CENTRAL facebook page. No, we don’t have twitter, yet. Maybe never. It’s a lot of work just doing this, by myself! Anyway, here is the link to the little web site (which by the way, is not finished, but you can check it out. If I have to start over, I’ll let you all know). Yes, you have to copy and paste. Who thought of blue letter is a genius! And, to remember how to do a copyright – well, let’s just say it’s filed away and my secretary hasn’t been showing up to remind me of where she put things! 

http://jagdb1957.wix.com/wild-horse-whhc 

Good news! Today I finally found some good news in my emails that you might not know about. It reminds me of the scripture: Be still and wait on the Lord. Well, today I don’t have all the answers, and maybe that is because there are some days that the Lord plans for us to enjoy waiting on Him. (Patience is not my best virtue) I have people ask me questions that I don’t have answers to, so I have to go looking, and honestly, sometimes I send them looking for the answers – but I try to give them at least a clue where to find these answers concerning wild horses and burros. 

Still, there are those disagreements. I guess everybody doesn’t get the concept: If you castrate all the stallions and give PZP double doses to the lead mares and other mares, you may as well start taking pictures of them for your grandchildren so you can tell them this is what a wild horse looked like. No, they won’t be any left for the zoos, either. But, try to tell that to the proponents of selling castrated stallions and birth control to mares that leave them sterilized for life. It’s just a no win situation. If PZP was used in a way that would allow for the mares to foal in a proper season, then it would be a real consideration, not a way to manage them to extinction. That is not an opinion: try mating a castrated horse or a mare that is sterile from PZP and count the foals for next year as babies you don’t have to round up and put into feedlots like cattle that come down with horrible diseases that are dangerous to every living breathing thing alive, even to the land itself. Lord. Yes, I am patient sometimes, and I will tell you why today it’s a good thing.

If you don’t know by now, I hate email. I do not like seeing 5 thousand emails or even 5 hundred emails; and I don’t remember to check on email account often enough to keep the thing from giving me a hard time trying to get into it. But, tonight I checked the email and guess what I found! Here it is:

http://iava.org/blog/spotlight-iava-leadership-fellow-jeff-hensley?org=403&lvl=100&ite=6958&lea=2992888&ctr=0&par=1

As in my last email, I considered the fact that veterans could really benefit from a program working with horses. Well, Jeff Hensley has done just that and the email was just sitting there, at the top I might add, waiting for us to read it. I copied/pasted the article to save you time:

This month, the spotlight is on IAVA Leadership Fellow Jeff Hensley. He used the New GI Bill to finance his master’s degree in counseling and put that education to work at his “Hooves for Heroes” program, which provides equine therapy to vets with PTSD. Here’s the story from Jeff:

When I came home from Iraq in 2007, I struggled to transition.  After 21-years as a naval officer, I felt I had lost my sense of purpose…and along with it, much of my identity.  In the months following redeployment, I grew confused and angry as I fought to cope with my new reality.  It was hard on me, but even harder on my children.  They hadn’t asked for war.  They hadn’t asked for their parent’s divorce.  They hadn’tasked for a father who could no longer cope effectively.  But they paid the price for all three.  

Despite the chaos of our lives at that point, we were fortunate.   We were surrounded by family and friends who loved us and a community that cared.  IAVA became a big part of my transition, providing me with the support of a new military family that helped me realize I was not alone.  The awareness that my struggles were common to many of my military brothers and sisters gave me confidence to seek help.  

Help came in the form of equine-assisted counseling for me and my children.  The horses helped us carve out a safe space to confront painful emotions.  In doing so, they became trusted friends on our journey of healing.  Over a few weeks at the ranch, we discovered a lot about ourselves.  We found that trauma doesn’t have to define us.  We learned that with love comes risk, but taking the risk makes us stronger.   And we learned we are more capable of handling life’s challenges that we believed before.   These are powerful insights that helped my kids weather a stormy patch in their young lives.  They continue to guide their development to this day.  For me, the awareness served as a reminder that I was not broken…there was still a warrior inside of me.  

My daughter cried all the way home after she said a final goodbye to her horse.  I remember being a little teary too.  But I wasn’t sad.  I knew she was going to be ok.  I knew we were all going to be ok.  

The experience with the horses was a turning point for me.  I believed this form of counseling could be a turning point for others, as well.  I used the New GI Bill to get my master’s in counseling with an emphasis on veterans’ issues and animal assisted therapies.  The more I learned, the more I came to understand that depression, or anxiety, or hopelessness does not have to be a life sentence.  Things can get better with help — a lot better.

Today, I’m the Program Counselor for Equest Therapeutic Horsemanship in Wylie, Texas.  At Equest, we offer a program called “Hooves for Heroes” that helps local veterans successfully navigate the transition from combat to civilian life.  The program is changing lives for those struggling with many of the same issues I faced coming home from Iraq.  

These men and women, from all eras of service, come to Equest and experience a safe, accepting environment that encourages them to take risks.  They learn they are competent by mastering new skills and accomplishing unfamiliar tasks.  Working with volunteers and staff committed to their well-being challenges beliefs that others cannot be trusted.  Experiencing an authentic bond with a horse opens the door to connecting with the people in their lives.   For many, the program offers a healthy alternative to a life of isolation and despair.     

For me, things have come full-circle.  Others stepped up when my children and I needed help and that support made all the difference.  I’m happy to be there for a new round of veterans, striving to find their place in a world outside the military.

I’ve found a new sense of purpose in paying it forward. 

 

Jeff has been an active member of IAVA for several years as a spokesperson, advocate, and Storm the Hill participant. This year, he was selected to be a member of the inaugural class of IAVA Leadership Fellows. He writes regularly on veterans issues for The Huffington Post.

HERE IS HIS SITE: 

http://www.equest.org/programs/applications/hooves-for-heroes

HEROS? Man, is that an understatement! I think people like this are born just so the rest of us can support their efforts. Not everyone is a leader, and don’t feel bad, neither am I. Sometimes I follow others just so I can learn something more than how to make a cup of coffee! Well, check out Hooves for Heros, would you? And pass it along to someone who might need to learn of the program! 

Next, and not least, because laughter is good for the soul, I found this:

What’s So Funny?.

Now, you have to trust me on this one, can you do that? The laughter of a wild ass is just as funny as the laughter from any horse that you will know; and these wild horses are one of the wildest of all! It’s a contest, it’s just for fun, and it’s your idea that really counts, in the long run – because you are the one that got the biggest laugh – and that is what light and laughter is all about.

So, while we are getting drenched here, and some people think that rain is a bad thing,(I love the rain), just pray for the folks out in Colorado where they have lost their horses and their homes. I am not sure about the wild horses in Colorado. I can’t imagine that they have had it easy since the fires broke out. Some days I have to be a soldier and show no emotion because if I ever do, the tears won’t stop and those headaches and my runny nose from crying will drive me nuts! Yep, it’s very hard to act like you don’t have those emotions, but for people like me, it’s harder to stop crying once we start because our hearts are broken for the people and the horses. So, say some special prayers for them and all the other prayer needs we have.

I have been watching some rescue people. They really do not have many people who understand what they do. In some instances, people send money. But, have you ever thought of contacting them and doing some volunteer work? It’s a lot of work, no matter what rescue operation you have: cats, dogs, birds, horses, and people. You can also ask to see what needs they have that are most important that you can provide, or send them a list of the things that you can do!

I don’t have the answers. I constantly ask God what to do and how to do it. I don’t ask why any more. Why is the reason, “because, that is why” is the answer. I never have figured out how God loves such creatures that we are, humans, as we are created. But, He does. Give Him a thank you every once in a while. Considering every emotion we have, he created and knows about, I think that he must also have these emotions, so hearing from us is like sending him a nice letter or calling him on the phone. Someday, we will actually get to go visit and stay for a while….

I would like to thank those responsible for sending WILD HORSE HUB CENTRAL a nice comment. It’s an award, and of course, I do not have a clue how to send one of those or how to post it on our blog. But, thank you!

Since it’s not just me at WILD HORSE HUB CENTRAL, it seems that it is only fair that you should know that I am just the one that keys stuff in and paste/copies, and yes, sometimes I learn things. But the real journalists, the real experts, the real animal behavior experts are not me: they are the ones responsible for saving the wild horses and burros of this world, I just get to be in their light for a while. While we have friends from all over the world, yes, they are the ones that are saving and the ones that are rescuing and making those meetings count. It’s just so wonderful to be in their light, just for a while.

God bless until next time!

SECRETARIAT! No, I usually don’t post thoroughbreds because I DO NOT think that having a bunch of milk mare foals is a good idea; but they are there and as long as rich people have money to breed these horses and race them, they will…even at the expense of the population trying to save and take care of the thousands of milk mare foals each year. 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

